Cupcakes & Birthday Fun


I am extremely sorry for the lack of posting.  Life has been quite busy in my household.  Within the past month a lot has happened.  I have become fully vegan, had my birthday party, and went to NYC with family.

I’ve always tried to have a specific theme to my parties.  When I was younger, it would often be princesses and tea parties (below).

princess party

One year it was even all Harry Potter themed! This year I decided for it to be a cupcake theme.  Boy, did we have fun!  The table was laid with icing, sprinkles, freshly baked vegan cupcakes and every topping you could imagine!

1

We started the night off with pizza.  Non-vegetarian, vegetarian and vegan options were all present.  I will be posting a vegan pizza recipe soon – so watch out for that!  It was a build-your-own pizza bar.  Everyone loved it.  We then moved onto dessert and spent half the night decorating cupcakes.  I made the cupcakes in advance.  Vegan chocolate cupcakes, vegan yellow cupcakes, and out-of-the-box non-vegan white cupcakes were all spread out on the table.  Vegan cream-cheese icing, vegan coconut-chocolate icing, and Betty Crocker icings were available for decorating.  All of my friends enjoyed the cupcakes, vegan and not!

3

Pictured above are my friends and I proudly displaying our creations.  That would be me on the far left. My tray is the first one, which, at the time, I did not realize was blurred.  Oh well!  They were all very excited to be featured on my blog.  Below is another picture of our cupcakes, this time mine in better focus.

4

And, as always, the recipes!

Chocolate Cupcakes

From the Oh She Glows recipe (link)  Makes 11-12, I doubled.

1 cup non-dairy milk (I used Vanilla Almond milk)

1 cup sugar (I used natural cane sugar)

1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil (or other oil)

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp pure vanilla extract

1/2 tsp pure almond extract (optional, but awesome) <— I did not use.

1.5 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1/3 cup cocoa powder, sifted (I used Dutch-process)

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp kosher salt, to taste

1. Preheat oven to 350F and line a cupcake pan with cupcake liners. With an electric mixer, beat together the following ingredients in a large bowl (non-dairy milk, oil, sugar, apple cider vinegar, vanilla, almond extract). Beat on medium speed for a minute or two.

2. Now sift in the dry ingredients (flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt). Mix well, until the clumps are gone.

3. Spoon the batter into prepared cupcake pan, about two thirds full for each. Bake for about 22 minutes at 350F, or until the cupcake slowly springs back when pressed with a finger. Allow to completely cool before frosting.

4. LICK THE BOWL!

Yellow Cupcakes

From all recipes (link).  Makes 18 cupcakes.

1 tbsp. apple cider

1 1/2 cups vanilla almond milk

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup white sugar, preferably organic

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 cup coconut oil, warmed until liquid

1 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease two 12 cup muffin pans or line with 18 paper baking cups.

2. Measure the apple cider vinegar into a 2 cup measuring cup. Fill with almond milk to make 1 1/2 cups. Let stand until curdled, about 5 minutes. In a large bowl, Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together the almond milk mixture, coconut oil and vanilla. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir just until blended. Spoon the batter into the prepared cups, dividing evenly.

3. Bake in the preheated oven until the tops spring back when lightly pressed, 15 to 20 minutes. Cool in the pan set over a wire rack. When cool, arrange the cupcakes on a serving platter. Frost with desired frosting.

“Cream Cheese” Icing

From the Peas & Thank You Carrot Cake with “cream cheese” icing recipe.

3 tablespoons vegan margarine (I used earth balance buttery spread)

4 ounces vegan cream cheese (I used tofutti better than cream cheese)

2 cups powdered sugar, preferably organic

1. Whip together ingredients with electric mixer and frost desired cupcakes with icing when cool.

Chocolate Fudge Frosting (Coconut Chocolate Frosting)

From the Oh She Glows recipe (link)

1 can (400 ml) full-fat coconut milk

1 bag dark, non-dairy chocolate chips (approx 285 grams)

1. Chill can of full-fat coconut milk in the fridge overnight. When ready, flip can over and open with can opener. Pour off the water (you can save it for a smoothie or discard). Scoop only the solid white coconut cream into a pot. Add the chocolate chips into the pot as well and gently melt the coconut cream and the chocolate chips together over low heat. Stir frequently and be careful not to burn.

2. Transfer this mixture into a bowl (cover with wrap) and then into the fridge for 2-3 hours (or overnight) until it firms up enough to whip into frosting. You really just have to eyeball it as I expect the timing for individual batches will differ depending on how cold your fridge is. I put it in the fridge overnight and then left it on the counter for the entire morning until I was ready to frost the cupcakes in the afternoon.

3. When it’s firmed enough to your liking, whip it with electric beaters until smooth and creamy. If it’s still too firm, you can leave it out on the counter for a bit longer. I didn’t need to add any milk to thin it out or any sugar to sweeten – it was just perfect as is! If your batch tastes bitter, you can always add a bit of sweetener to your taste. I also like to add a small pinch of fine grain sea salt to make the flavours pop.

Note: On a hot day, this frosting could melt. Be sure to keep frosted cupcakes in the fridge until ready to enjoy.

1

The day after my awesome party we headed off to NYC.  It was amazing!  We went to a delicious and delightful vegan restaurant called Blossom (http://www.blossomnyc.com/).  For an appetizer, we all shared the cashew cream ravioli, everyone’s favorite!  I had the grilled tofu Burrito, my mom had the Southwestern sandwich, my dad had the tofu BLT, and my brother had french toast and tempeh bacon.  For dessert, we had the chocolate cake with ganache and vegan ice cream.  I could not recommend this place more!

2

 

After our great lunch, we went on the High line (below).

photo 5

 

Later on, we stopped at Molly’s Cupcakes (http://www.mollyscupcakes.com/) and surprisingly, they had vegan cupcakes (below).

photo 2

 

 

We ended the great day at the vegetarian restaurant in Eataly.  My meal is pictured below.

photo 3

One thought on “Cupcakes & Birthday Fun

  1. Thanks for sharing this lovely post with us! all of the foods look great & tasty! That would be a great & tasty vegetarian restaurant! Those vegan cupcakes at Molly’s look tasty! Your cupcakes too! I love your original frostings too!

Leave a Reply

